The town’s original Museum of Contemporary Art first opened way back in 1953. But it closed within a couple of years and the collection has been gathering dust in storage ever since.
But a new home has been found for the works of art on the top floor of the town’s old customs house, the Casa de la Real Aduana, overlooking the picturesque fishing harbour.
The collection was put together by the artist and critic Eduardo Westerdahl and his French wife Maud Bonneaud, herself a noted artist, the surrealist Oscar Dominguez and architect Alberto Sartoris, with assistance from the Institute of Hispanic Studies.
There are 45 pieces in the gallery, which will initially be open only in the morning. Entrance is free until the end of the summer. After that admission will be one euro